Taylor Schools

The Taylor School District is poised to be the leader in education as the community prepares for the 21st Century. The school district is the largest governmental unit of its kind in the Downriver area of suburban Detroit. In Wayne County.

The Taylor School District operates:

  • One High School
  • Two Middle Schools
  • Eight Elementary Schools
  • Preschool Center
  • Career Center
Truman Honors


The heart of a school district can be found in its curriculum: what it teaches and how it teaches. At the Taylor School District, this heart is defined by a comprehensive, aligned and articulated pre-K-12 curriculum that provides a clear direction for teachers and administrators.

This curriculum includes all subjects taught, from pre-kindergarten through senior high advanced placement. It also includes such areas as special education, technology, and school-to-work.

To make this form of education work effectively, the district has implemented an active, progressive curriculum and instruction plan that not only reviews current offerings but plants the seeds for tomorrow’s classrooms. The plan then establishes the strategies and delivery systems that are compatible with district goals and the core curriculum.

Taylor School District

Visit Taylor School District or email the school district to find more information about the Taylor School District.

Taylor Schools Alumni Association

Visit Taylor Schools Alumni Association or email to become a member of the Taylor Schools Alumni association. As a member of the association, you will be able to keep in contact with your classmates and other graduates of Taylor schools as well as receive information about your classmates, reunions and other planned activities.

The lifetime membership is $25 per person. Part of the proceeds go to the "Taylor Schools Foundation of Excellence" Scholarship Fund to help Taylor students.

Taylor Schools Alumni Association

11501 Beech Daly Road, Taylor, MI 48180

Taylor Federation of Teachers

Find information about the Taylor Federation of Teachers.

Board of Education

The Taylor School District is governed by a seven-member Board of Education that is elected at-large by the entire district population. The trustees serve staggered four-year terms.

The board is responsible for setting policy, approving budgets and tax and spending limits and hiring the superintendent. The board is also responsible for dealing with student misconduct that has suspension or expulsion as a penalty, and for employee grievance matters. The board negotiates all labor contracts with the district’s five bargaining units. The board annually elects its own president, vice president, secretary, and treasurer.


  • 2nd and 4th Monday of each month at the
  • Board of Education Offices
    23033 Northline Road
    Taylor, MI 48180


  • Deborah Stellini, President
  • Ann Block
  • Pamela Lakatos
  • Vicky Horth
  • David Meyers
  • Ron Miller
  • Jamee McCoy


The administration of the school district is handled by a staff led by the Superintendent. This individual is responsible for the day-to-day operations of the district and is supported by a team of assistants, directors, and coordinators who handle all aspects of instruction and administration.

This includes:

  • benefits
  • budget creation and implementation
  • building and grounds supervision and maintenance
  • curriculum
  • food service
  • hiring and firing of personnel
  • instruction
  • payroll
  • purchasing
  • special services
  • transportation


Griff Mills

Curriculum and Instruction Pre-K - 12

Dr. Mary Ann Cyr

Executive Director for H.R., Labor Relations and Negotiations

Patricia DeLaTorre

Interim Chief Financial Officer

Kelly Howey